Last week Baby Girl came home with a surprise for me. She had drawn and colored a portrait of me in class.  There was a poem attached on the back title, For Dad. Upon some research, I learned the author isn’t known and that online the text goes by a couple different names (Footprints and Walk A Little Slower, Daddy). Until that moment, I’d never heard of it. If you haven’t heard of it, I figured I’d share.

“Walk a little slower, Daddy,” said the child so small.

“I’m following your footsteps and I don’t want to fall.”

“Sometimes your steps are fast,

“Sometimes they’re hard to see.

“So walk a little slower, Daddy,

“For you are leading me.

“Someday when I’m all grown up,

“You’re what I want to be.

“Then I will have a little child

“Who’ll want to follow me.

“And I would want to lead just right,

“And know that I was true.

“So, walk a little slower Daddy,

“For I must follow you.”

I do tend to walk pretty fast. I should probably consider slowing down my stride. How about you?

Copyright 2017 Damien Alameda. All Rights Reserved.

Leave a Reply

